Communiqué of the Twenty-Eighth Meeting of the Intergovernmental Group of Twenty-Four on International Monetary Affairs and Development (G-24), September 24, 1983, Washington, D.C.

Ministers of the Group of Twenty-Four on International Monetary Affairs held their TwentyEighth meeting in Washington, D.C., on September 24, 1983. Mr. Salah Hamed, Minister of Finance, Egypt, was in the chair, with Mr. Manmohan Singh, Governor, Reserve Bank of India, and Mr. Jorge Wehbe, Minister of Economy, Argentina, as Vice-Chairmen. The meeting was attended by Mr. Farooq Sobhan, New York Chairman, Group of 77, Mr. J. de Larosière, Managing Director, International Monetary Fund, Mr. A. W. Clausen, President, The World Bank, Mr. Jean Ripert, Director-General for Economic Development and International Cooperation, United Nations, Mr. Gamani Corea, Secretary–General, UNCTAD, Mr. C. A. Brown, Deputy Administrator, UNDP, Mr. M. V. Samii, Head, International Money and Finance Unit, OPEC, Mr. A. S. Al-Ani, Assistant Director-General, OPEC Fund, Mr. Hassan Al-Najafi, Governor, Central Bank of Iraq, and Mr. Hamad Al-Sayari, Acting Governor, Saudi Arabian Monetary Agency (SAMA). Mr. Lu Peijian, Governor, People’s Bank of China, attended as invitee.