Communiqué of the Fortieth Meeting of the Intergovernmental Group of Twenty-Four on International Monetary Affairs and Development (G-24), April 2, 1989, Washington, D.C.

Ministers of the Group of Twenty-Four on International Monetary Affairs held their Fortieth Meeting in Washington, D.C. on April 2, 1989. Mr. Jean-Pierre Lemboumba-Lepandou, Minister of Finance, Gabon, was in the Chair, with Mr. Masoud Mozayani, Vice Governor, Bank Markazi Jomhouri Islami Iran, Islamic Republic of Iran, and Mr. Luis Fernando Alarcón, Minister of Finance, Colombia, as Vice-Chairmen. The meeting was attended by Mr. M. Camdessus, Managing Director, International Monetary Fund, Mr. B. B. Conable, President, World Bank, Mr. Bernard T. G. Chidzero, Chairman, Development Committee, Mr. Razali Ismail, Chairman, Group of Seventy-Seven, Mr. Rafeeuddin Ahmed, Under Secretary General, United Nations, Mr. K. K. S. Dadzie, Secretary-General, UNCTAD, Mr. Olivier Castro, Executive Secretary, Central American Monetary Council, Mr. Taiwo Idemudia, Head, Economic Section, OPEC, Mr. Y. Seyyid Abdulai, Director-General, OPEC Fund, Mr. Martine Guerguil, Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean, Mr. Assibi Abudu, Islamic Development Bank, Mr. Hikmat 0. Al-Hadithy, Minister of Finance, Iraq, Mr. Mohamed Berrada, Minister of Finance, Morocco, and Mr. Hamed Al-Sayari, Governor, Saudi Arabian Monetary Agency, Saudi Arabia; Ms. Qiu Qing, Deputy Governor, People’s Bank of China, People’s Republic of China, attended as invitee.